Back to Preaching

Friends, please forgive my silence over the past few weeks. I have been ill but I am starting to get back into my normal routines.

I have heard from several people that I preached well on Trinity Sunday. It was an extraordinary evening. Throughout the service I was nervous and I stumbled a couple of times when reading, though this was probably more evident to me than to others. When I stepped up to deliver the address, though, something wonderful happened. I felt strong inside myself and, suddenly, I was confident. I could feel the Holy Spirit working within me. When I returned to my seat, I was shaking again but not from fear.

On Sunday, I am preaching again – the first service I have led since becoming ill – and I am treating it as a practice for my trial service. The Faith and Worship unit 3 trial service uses a reading (the student chooses which) from Mark around which the service is constructed. I chose chapter 6; 45-52.  This is the story of Jesus walking on water or, in my sermon, the story of the imperfect disciples.

I turned myself away from religion repeatedly because I did not feel that I was good enough to be a christian. Now I understand that being a christian entails continuing on a journey and that we will never be quite finished until the day of judgement.  This is the theme of my service.

God bless you and keep you x

Leave a Reply

