Unforeseen Consequences

When I started studying to be a preacher, back in May, I really enjoyed the opportunity it gave me to deepen my biblical knowledge and understanding. And I still enjoy finding about the cultural symbolism Jesus used in His teaching.

But, I realised tonight that my personal devotions have suffered because the time I once spent on personal bible study is now geared almost entirely towards the next sermon.

It’s the same with prayer, I am so busy crafting prayers and sermons that I feel like I am missing out on time just to be with God.

I feel very uncomfortable about that. How can I stand in front of a congregation to deliver God’s message if I am not keeping up with basic practices?

I hope that, as I gain confidence about preparing services, it won’t take hours and hours and hours over two or three weeks to prepare each service. Maybe then, this feeling shall pass.

Leave a Reply

